Latest News

Time To Recognise Excellence

Time To Recognise Excellence - 1962 Lotus Elan Type 26 997 NUR & 1962 Lotus Type 25 ex Jim Clark

Nominations are now invited for the 2021 Royal Automobile Club Historic Awards, the annual celebration of the British historic motoring and motorsport scene.

The Club’s Chairman, Ben Cussons, said:

“This is the third year of the Awards and we already have a strong record of outstanding nominees and proud winners. There is a much to celebrate this year, not least the tremendous enthusiasm and creativity that so many individuals and organisations are showing, whether that’s by embracing the virtual world or responding with ingenuity to the challenges they face in staging live events or running a business day-to-day.

“The UK’s historic motoring sector has an annual turnover of £18 billion and provides employment for 113,000 people, and the award categories reflect its many facets. This year we have introduced a new award – Innovation – in recognition of the new products, services or initiatives which have been introduced over the past year. We very much look forward to receiving nominations and assessing what we are sure will be candidates of an exceptionally high calibre across all categories and celebrating those achievements at the Awards’ evening on 25 November at our Pall Mall clubhouse.”

Ben Cussons, Chairman, Royal Automobile Club

Candidates can nominate themselves or be nominated by a third party. Nominations close on 1 October.

Nominations, which should be made online at, are invited in the following categories:

  • Collection
  • Competitive Event
  • Innovation
  • Motoring Spectacle
  • Outstanding Journalism 
  • Personality
  • Restoration
  • Young Achiever

The eligibility period is 1st October 2020 to 30th September 2021. Rigorous, expert and independent judging is a key element of the Awards, and each category will be assessed by its own handpicked, specialist judging panel.

At the Awards’ evening on Thursday, 25th November, the Club will also present the Royal Automobile Club Lifetime Achievement Award, in recognition of an individual who has made a remarkable contribution to British motoring and/or motorsport heritage over many decades. 

The Awards are a continuation of the Club’s more than 120-year pedigree in recognising motoring accomplishments. Today, the Club presents a series of internationally-recognised accolades, including the Segrave Trophy, the Torrens Trophy, the Simms Medal, the Dewar Trophy and the oldest trophy in motorsport still being competed for today – the Tourist Trophy.

Leave a Comment