Latest News

The finalists are announced in the 2022 Royal Automobile Club Historic Awards

It’s full speed ahead for the 2022 Royal Automobile Club Historic Awards… now that our independent panels of specialist judges have made their final choices! The finalists have now been selected, and the winners will be announced at a gala dinner at the Royal Automobile Club in Pall Mall on Thursday, 24th November, tickets for which are now available from the Awards’ website

The 2022 Royal Automobile Club Historic Awards finalists are:

Collection (supported by Footman James)

  • Sammy Miller Motorcycle Museum
  • National Motor Museum, Beaulieu
  • Robert and Tanya Lewis (private collection)

Competitive Event (supported by A. Lange & Söhne)

  • Shelsley Walsh Classic Nostalgia
  • Rally the Globe Generations Rally
  • Oulton Park Gold Cup

Innovation (supported by the Federation Skills Trust)

  • The Simon Diffey Heritage Motorsport Apprentice Award
  • The TR Register – the European Breakdown App 

Motoring Spectacle

  • Concours on Savile Row
  • The Sir Jackie Stewart Classic – presented by Rolex
  • Austin Seven Centenary Celebration

Outstanding Journalism

  • The Big Zborowskis — Piotr Frankowski, Octane
  • Bren Gun Carrier — Mark Dixon, Octane 
  • The Good Life — Giles Chapman, The Automobile

Personal Endeavour

  • Simon Diffey and Sarah Adams-Diffey
  • John Owen
  • Paul Tunnicliffe

Restoration (supported by Bicester Heritage)

  • 1937 Rolls Royce Phantom III H.J Mulliner Sedanca Coupé (Alpine Eagle)
  • 1931 AEC Regent 486 bus (Transport Museum Wythall)
  • 1934 Aston Martin MkII Chassis 402 ‘Hedgehog’ (Ecurie Bertelli)

Young Achiever (supported by 1762 from RBC Brewin Dolphin and StarterMotor)

  • Joe Mellor
  • Jordy Smith
  • William Heynes

Ben Cussons, Chairman of the Royal Automobile Club said, “These Awards continue the Club’s famous tradition over more than 120 years of recognising motoring accomplishments. The judging process is absolutely rigorous and independent. We set the bar very high and across the eight shortlisted categories there was a remarkable diversity of entries. This has given us an excellent list of finalists reflecting the breadth of the British historic vehicle world – the judges have a difficult task to whittle these down to decide the winners.

I must thank the members of the judging panels for their dedication, integrity and expertise, and of course our enthusiastic Partners for their support. We look forward to celebrating together at the Awards on Thursday, 24 November!” 

On that date, the Club will also announce the winner of its Lifetime Achievement Award, to recognise an individual who has, in the Club’s opinion, made an outstanding contribution to British historic motoring or motor racing across many years.

For further information please visit

Leave a Comment