Latest News

Join Us On YouTube For The GOMW Awards

Prova PR Business Writer Award Is Back For 2020 (Richard Postins and Alex Grant)

Winners of the Guild of Motoring Writers Awards will be announced in a YouTube Premiere webcast on 16th February 2021, and anyone can join to witness the presentations.

The coronavirus pandemic and its restrictions meant the Guild’s annual awards presentation and dinner at the Royal Automobile Club was unable to go ahead.

But the association has embraced the technology at its disposal to create a virtual and interactive presentation, and in doing so, making it accessible to members and other interested parties worldwide.

The event will be hosted by Ben Edwards, former commentator for BBC and Channel 4 Formula One coverage.

Guild members entered in 10 categories covering writing, editing and photography, with submissions sent to a panel for each category combining Guild representatives and sponsors. A shortlist of three finalists was selected for each category before choosing the winner who will receive a cash prize of up to £500.

The Guild will also present awards to others nominated by the committee, including Rider of the Year and Driver of the Year.

To join, you need to subscribe to the GOMW YouTube channel here, to ensure you get a reminder 30 minutes before the event is due to begin. The presentation will start at 4pm on Tuesday 16th February 2021, and viewers will be able to chat on the page and leave comments.

Guild chairman Richard Aucock said: “The previous 12 months have been very challenging for all of us in automotive publishing, but we’re very excited to be able to present the awards in a new format this year.

As we’re not restricted by the number of guests we can have in a room, it will be a great opportunity for more of us to be involved by interacting with the presentation as it’s broadcast.

Finalists for awards judged by Guild representatives and sponsors:

AA Campaigning for Safety Award
  • Jonathan Gibson
  • Mark Smyth
  • Brian Weatherley
Audi Photographic Awards – General
  • Nick Dimbleby
  • Drew Gibson
  • Matt Howell
Audi Photographic Awards – Motorsport
  • Jayson Fong
  • Drew Gibson
  • James Moy
BCA Feature Writer of the Year
  • David Lillywhite
  • Maria McCarthy
  • James Taylor
Bentley Editor of the Year
  • Tom Barnard
  • Mark Bursa
  • Simon Harris
CNH Industrial Commercial Vehicle Writer of the Year
  • Colin Barnett
  • George Barrow
  • Brian Weatherly
Genesis Award for Automotive Technology Journalism
  • Andrew Charman
  • Alex Grant
  • Brian Weatherley
H&H Classics, Classic Writer of the Year
  • Alex Grant
  • Greg MacLeman
  • David Lillywhite
Mercedes-Benz Award for the Montagu of Beaulieu Trophy
  • Craig Cheetham
  • Richard Jenkins
  • Martyn Morgan-Jones
Prova PR Business Writer of the Year
  • Mark Bursa
  • Martin Kahl
  • Mark Smyth

Other GOMW Awards (without a shortlist) to be revealed on 16th February:

Loop/The Guild of Motoring Writers Journalist of the Year

Selected from winners of the above categories…

  • Driver of the Year
  • Rider of the Year
  • Guild of Motoring Writers Special Commendation sponsored by Kia
  • Pemberton Trophy
  • The President’s Trophy

For more information, contact Honorary Secretary Richard Netherwood.

Leave a Comment