Latest News

Finalists Revealed In GOMW Awards

Finalists Revealed In GOMW Awards

The finalists in the 2020 Guild of Motoring Writers Awards have been selected, and the winners will be announced online in a webcast on 16th February 2021 at 4.00pm.

Finalists in 10 categories have been shortlisted with the chance of winning up to £500 and a trophy.

Entrants were able to submit work published from October 2019 (following the end of the eligibility period of the 2019 awards) to December 2020, taking into account that some would have spent part of last year with a lower volume of work because of furlough or other Covid-19 disruption. Judging took place over the Christmas and new year period.

The awards would usually have taken place at a gala dinner at the Royal Automobile Club in December, but the coronavirus pandemic made this impossible.

Instead, the 2020 awards presentation will take place online, hosted by former BBC and Channel 4 Formula One commentator Ben Edwards.

The online format will make the awards presentation more accessible than the traditional awards dinner with a limited number of tickets, and can be viewed from anywhere with an internet collection.

Information on how to view the awards presentation will be circulated nearer the date of the ceremony.

Winners will be selected from the following shortlist and revealed on 16th February:

AA Campaigning for Safety Award
  • Jonathan Gibson
  • Mark Smyth
  • Brian Weatherley
Audi Photographic Awards – General
  • Nick Dimbleby 
  • Drew Gibson 
  • Matt Howell
Audi Photographic Awards – Motorsport 
  • Jayson Fong 
  • Drew Gibson 
  • James Moy 
BCA Feature Writer of the Year
  • David Lillywhite
  • Maria McCarthy
  • James Taylor
Bentley Editor of the Year
  • Tom Barnard
  • Mark Bursa
  • Simon Harris
CNH Industrial Commercial Vehicle Writer of the Year
  • Colin Barnett
  • George Barrow
  • Brian Weatherly
Genesis Award for Automotive Technology Journalism
  • Andrew Charman
  • Alex Grant
  • Brian Weatherley
H&H Classics, Classic Writer of the Year
  • Alex Grant
  • Greg MacLeman
  • David Lillywhite
Mercedes-Benz Award for the Montagu of Beaulieu Trophy
  • Craig Cheetham
  • Richard Jenkins
  • Martyn Morgan-Jones
Prova PR Business Writer of the Year
  • Mark Bursa
  • Martin Kahl
  • Mark Smyth

Other GOMW Awards (without a shortlist) to be revealed on 16 February:

Loop/The Guild of Motoring Writers Journalist of the Year

Selected from winners of the above categories

  • Driver of the Year
  • Rider of the Year
  • Guild of Motoring Writers Special Commendation sponsored by Kia
  • Pemberton Trophy
  • The President’s Trophy

Leave a Comment